Monte Sano Art Festival this weekend, plus a new architectural drawing

Events and completed projects

I will be an exhibiting artist at the Monte Sano Art Festival again this year. My booth number is 45. This is one of my favorite shows of the year. I will have lots of original art and high quality reproductions for sale during this show. The show is at Monte Sano State Park in Huntsville, Alabama. There will also be a lot of local artists and artists from diverse areas in the southeast.

I have just completed my latest project “Visitors” . This is a pen and ink drawing created with traditional drafting instruments in pencil and then redrawn in ink.

“Visitors” is my third drawing in my series of drawings of the London Museum of Natural History.

This is the original photograph that I used to create the drawing. I found this image on Pexels which is a website for sharing photography. This particular photo was made by Silvio Mollov. https://www.pexels.com/photo/people-inside-a-building-3999186/

This photo lends itself very well to drawing with a fine point pen since there is a lot of fine linear detail. It is worth noting that the camera placement was almost exactly in the center of the scene. This fact made it possible to design the arches in the ceiling with drafting tools.

This is a photo of work in progress.

Just a reminder, I am at studio 2051 in the north wing of Lowe Mill on the second floor. My standard studio hours are Wednesday, Friday and Saturday from 12:00 till 7 pm.

Now, it is time to get ready for the Monte Sano Art Festival and determine my next drawing project.