New architectural drawing

Last year, while browsing some photographic sharing websites, I found some fantastic photos of the London Museum of Natural History. The most striking feature of these photographs was the intense amount of linear detail. The main exhibit hall is a massive cavernous open space with elaborate ornamentation, masonry and intricate supporting structures. Could it be possible to create drawings of these photos that would convey the same sense of magnificence? There were two immediate challenges. The building’s interior structure contains many arches which are very hard to draw correctly. The second challenge is, all of these photos of the museum contain people and drawing people is new to me since I have always drawn geometric and mechanical images. Addressing these challenges has been interesting and rewarding and has helped me develop new skills. I have been very pleased with the results and they are nice additions to my series of drawings of real places. It is satisfying when persons who have been there recognize it when they see my drawings.

This is called “Exhibit”. My Rapidograph pen is shown for scale.

This is the photograph that inspired the drawing. The photo was purchased from Deposit Photos.

This is a detailed view of some of the ceiling structure.

This is a close up of visitors in the museum.

Next, I will have the drawing photographed and digitized so I can make reproductions.

I have all of my original art and many high quality reproductions available for viewing at my studio at Lowe Mill :

I also have a website for my artwork: