Newest Mechanical Drawing

My last drawing called “Exhibit” took three months to complete. That’s a long time to work on one piece, so I decided to start some less complex subjects. I have always been fascinated with the design and structure of machines, so I decided to draw some mechanical blueprint designs. I follow several social media sites that publish a lot of mechanical images of subject such as marine engineering, oil drilling platforms, cranes, aeronautical engineering and military technology. I found this particular image of a radial engine and decided to make a drawing of it.

This is a Zvezda M503 Maritime 7 bank 42 cylinder radial engine developed in the Soviet Union in the 1970’s. The design has symmetry that reminds me of Tibetan Mandalas and sacred geometry. The original blueprint contained just the structural detail of the engine. I added the liner background to give the image more contrast. This drawing was completed in one month.

Upper detail:

Detail view of cylinder and piston structure:

Cylinder head detail:

This is a preserved specimen of an M503 engine:

My next engine blueprint drawing will be of a Ferrari V12 automotive engine.

Upcoming event:

I will be at the Monte Sano Art Festival in Huntsville, Alabama this year. My booth number is 46. I will have many new original drawings and high quality reproductions and limited edition prints.

This link has a map for navigation:

This is a link to my website with different size prints of the Radial Engine:

This is a link to my studio information at Lowe Mill: